Madness dropout!

Hi, my name is Rachel and I am a Sock Madness Drop Out! (pout). I just couldn’t keep up. The thingis that  it is WAY more intense than I thought it was going to be and I had pretty high expectations.  It didn’t help that I was completely naive about how much the girls would want to spend time with me and how busy I actually was going to be for Spring Break. Now if I was able to go to a cabin in the woods for complete alone time, I could do this, but I’m pretty sure that that is impossible. Especially when it is running from March 13 – May something.

So I finished a sock, I’ll show it to you later, however, I’m rather glad to have the monkey off of my back. Mr. Outdoors is getting ready to be a vendor at a Taste of Home cooking school here in our town next month, and  of course he has me do the flyers, display, etc.  I actually want to start putting things up on the walls here in the house. And dangit all that these children want to spend some time of their mommy….how DARE they! LOL. So the sock will go alone to the UFO basket and then I’ll get back to working on baby blankets, booties, etc.

 I am going to do two small Christmas gifts a month at least.  Also, does anyone know where I can find a cute cardigan, with possible cables, for a girl in a US size 10 (children’s)? I’m looking for a birthday gift for Em.

 Pictures later, however, for now, I”ll just give you a glimpse of what I see outside.

02311122.png

that is the radar link from my local channel. You can’t even see where we are!!! There has been hard rain since about midnight last night and it hasn’t stopped and it’s not going to stop all day long! So the girls have a birthday party this afternoon and then we are going to the movies with a friend.

4 Responses to Madness dropout!

  1. Chris H says:

    Don’t drop out now! Keep going..there are still openings in our division! I’m still on my second sock, and I can fully appreciate the demands of kids (I have 2 boys, both with special needs). I joined for the new sock patterns and for the friendships that I’d seen form last time. Come on! Just keep plugging….you never know!

  2. Mary says:

    Hi, I’m in UConn and if you have a finished sock, you are ahead of me…I’m still on the legs (both socks at once) and there are still 7 spots for round 2. No pressure :). As Chris H said, you just never know :).

  3. Ren says:

    good luck finishing up your socks, anyway! (don’t let them sit in the UFO basket for TOO long!) i hope that bad weather has cleared…

  4. Sandi says:

    I’m another UConn CastOn, and I understand what you mean about the pressure. This was way more intense that I had wanted. I hate that you’re having to drop out, though. I know that I’ve discovered that most of the pressure was self-generated… I could have dealt with the rest of the world (my kids, my multiple jobs, AND it being tax season), kept the Madness on a fun level, and still have been involved. Instead I chose to make it an all or nothing deal, and I lost a lot of the fun. I’ve decided to keep the rest of the competition in a more friendly state. And I hope you decide to stick with it; even if you aren’t competing, come join us for a little recreational knitting time! (You know you deserve that!)

Leave a comment